Review: Old Routes – New Waters

Visions of Atlantis are back with a brand new line-up and a new EP that should please fans of the band. This power metal group have re-recorded some of the classics and slapped them together in a short record called Old Routes – New Waters.

There is no denying the quality of the music on Old Routes – New Waters. The band sound great as they mix it up between symphonic and power metal. There is clearly a lot of love put into this record. Each song brings its own thing to the EP despite the fact that the song choice is in itself a little repetitive. There is a little bit too much ballad material and it kind of kills the pace a little.

With that said, I thought the re-recordings the band has released on this record are extremely well done. The groups two new lead singers Clémentine Delauney and Siegfried Samer do a great job of intertwining their vocals. They both have impressive strong voices that compliment each other wonderfully. Musically speaking there is nothing to complain about. The whole band sound great whether it is a guitar or keyboard solo. The bass and drums pound away with great power. It just sounds fantastic. They certainly sound more fresh then the originals. There is two ways to look at Old Routes – New Waters, I can understand why the band wanted to re-record some oldies with a new line up. The fact they do it very well is quite commendable. But at the same time it is quite a pointless release. The fact it stops so short is quite disappointing. It is a shame that they only settled for an EP and not a full fledged album. This line up has a lot of potential and I think a bigger range of songs would of made this one great compilation album.

This should be a great budget purchase for fans of Visions of Atlantis. Whether you prefer the original songs or not isn’t what this is about. It is simply a fresh new line up showing us what they can do with their classics. They are played with a lot of respect and despite being a little pointless as an EP, I see no reason why fans shouldn’t buy Old Routes – New Waters.

Rating : 8 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Lovebearing Storm
  2. Lost
  3. Winternight
  4. Seven Seas
  5. Last Shut of Your Eyes