Review: Damn The Torpedoes

After a stunning two album run with Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers and You’re Gonna Get ItTom Petty And The Heartbreakers raised their game and released what is now considered an essential rock album. Equipped with a selection of excellent singles and deep cuts, Damn The Torpedoes is considered one of the finest rock albums for it’s time and it doesn’t take a genius to hear why.

Damn The Torpedoes is an album that I think everyone knows a chunk of, even if it is subconsciously. Half of the album still gets frequent radio play even in 2016 to the point that despite the fact I didn’t grow up with the record itself, I knew fine what was on it and how good these songs were.

I would bet that it is virtually impossible to find a rock listener who doesn’t know the first two tracks from Damn The Torpedoes. The records launches with two very memorable tracks, Refugee and Here Comes My Girl. Two gigantic memorable choruses and enough melody to make Bob Dylan blush. These two songs are the most well known of the lot but it sets the bar for the entire record. It hits this instant high from the get go and never dips in quality, not for a second. The sound is a lot less laid back with the tempo being stepped up a fair bit. The inclusion of faster numbers that feature more lead guitar breaks and keyboards make for a livelier record, one that is much easier to listen to.

Damn The Torpedoes was also a big step up in production for Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers. Though their previous albums didn’t sound bad, far from it. There is a sound of professionalism on this record that was obviously lacking from its predecessors. The sound is very slick, buttery smooth and sounds absolutely lovely.

Is there anything to dislike about Damn The Torpedoes? Personally speaking, I don’t think so. I considered the previous two albums excellent by rock standards but this one is a down right classic. The record sounds great and the songs are all well written, wonderfully recorded and haven’t aged a day. People can have their own opinions and I respect that, but I happily consider Damn The Torpedoes as a down right classic example of a perfect album.

Rating : 10 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Refugee
  2. Here Comes My Girl
  3. Even The Losers
  4. Shadow of a Doubt (A Complex Kid)
  5. Century City
  6. Don't Do Me Like That
  7. You Tell Me
  8. What Are You Doin' In My Life
  9. Louisianna Rain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *