Review: Love You Live

Released in the later half of 1977, Love You Live is the third full length live album from English rock legends The Rolling Stones. The album is a compilation album recorded between 1975-77 during the Black and Blue tour.

Recorded in the later part of the ’70s during a period of heavy drugs use, Love You Live is considered one of the weaker live albums from The Rolling Stones. It is well known for it’s heavy use of over dubs and inconsistencies between the shows recorded. In fact, the set list on the record apparently caused quite a lot of heat between the band’s lead singer Mick Jagger and guitarist Keith Richards.

Throughout the album, you will find performances from Paris, London and Toronto from the various years. My favourite beings the blues set from March 5th, 1977 that features covers of standards like Mannish Boy, Little Red Rooster and Chuck Berry’s Around and Around. The band sound more on point and focused here compared to the rest of the album, but this could be put down to the so called over dubs with only the latter remaining untouched.

As a whole, this is a fun energetic and enjoyable album. It has a nice varied set list featuring some oddities and the usual hits. But they blend together nicely for an easy listening eighty three minutes of rock n roll. The production has been handled well, not making the band sound like overpowering brutes and more like a well oiled band. Though there are a few songs where Mick Jagger sounds quite out of breathe, understandable considering the way he bounces around on stage.

Considering how easy it is to find a cheap copy of Love It Live, I would recommend picking it up for rock enthusiasts. You won’t necessarily hear the band at their best which obviously means that this isn’t their best live album, but it is good enough to warrant coughing up some spare change.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Intro: Excerpt From "Fanfare For The Common Man" (CD1)
  2. Honky Tonk Woman (CD1)
  3. If You Can't Rock Me/Get Off of My Cloud (CD1)
  4. Happy (CD1)
  5. Hot Stuff (CD1)
  6. Star Star (CD1)
  7. Tumbling Dice (CD1)
  8. Fingerprint File (CD1)
  9. You Gotta Move (CD1)
  10. You Can't Always Get What You Want (CD1)
  11. Mannish Boy (CD 2)
  12. Crackin' Up (CD 2)
  13. Little Red Rooster (CD 2)
  14. Around and Around (CD 2)
  15. It's Only Rock 'N' Roll (But I Like It) (CD 2)
  16. Brown Sugar (CD 2)
  17. Jumpin' Jack Flash (CD 2)
  18. Sympathy For the Devil (CD 2)