Review: Burn It Down

Well they’re back and they’re just as loud now as they were the last time we heard them. The Dead Daisies have just released their fourth studio album, Burn It Down. It is forty minutes of simple, back to basics hard rock and it is worthy every bit of your time.

Right from the get go, Burn It Down smacks you in the face with a juicy heavy rock riff. The sound is clearly picking up where the last album, Make Some Noise left off. There is a little Whitesnake, a little Corabi era Mötley Crüe and a great amount of rock cliches. But cliche or not, it is all moulded together to make one monstrous heavy sound that for a lack of better words, sounds magnificent.

The music definitely feels like a barrage of wonderfully heavy riffs and solid rhythms that only let up for the seventh track, the slow and bluesy Set Me Free. The twin guitars definitely do their job and then some. But the real deal for me is the rhythm section featuring Dean Castronovo and Marco Mendoza. As a duo, these two destroy everything in their path to provide solid grounds for these solid rock songs. The bass roars as it works its way through the thunderous drumming with the rhythms themselves being simple enough to drive the songs forward. But thanks to little flares here and there, it is not basic enough to sound lacking.

The album has been mastered a little too loud for my personal cup of tea. It is safe to assume that with music like this, it really doesn’t need to be cranked up like this because Lemmy knows, we’re just going to turn the volume up anyway. It is the only real downside of this album. The performances are solid, the songs do exactly what a good band should do and much like, Make Some Noise, this album is about as good as you’ll get from this style of hard rock and heavy metal.

If you’re a new comer to The Dead Daisies, this is the perfect place to start. If however you’ve been here before, you’re in for a nice return as this album could very well be one of the best released this year.

Rating : 9 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Resurrected
  2. Rise Up
  3. Burn It Down
  4. Judgement Day
  5. What Goes Around
  6. Bitch
  7. Set Me Free
  8. Dead and Gone
  9. Can't Take It With You
  10. Leave Me Alone
  11. Revolution (bonus)