Review: The Sick, Dumb & Happy

The up coming band The Charm The Fury have been creating a little of buzz in the world of metal. Their album has been endlessly advertised and it is hard to escape seeing it. With that reason alone, I decided to review their album and to be honest, it isn’t all that bad.

The Charm The Fury have a nice meaty nu-metal style that they use with great effect. For the most part I think these guys sound great despite the irritating lead vocals and the occasional momentum breaking emo moment. Echoes has a lot of promise with a strong lead riff but eventually breaks down into some metalcore section. No offence guys but halving the tempo and using clean vocals out of nowhere is a trick that was over used and should have been left for dead ten years ago. If you’re going to do that properly, do it like the ballad Silent War, now that is a quality song with some nice acoustic guitar and soaring female vocals.

The production of the album is quite nicely done. The vocals as annoying as they are have been well recorded and well implemented in the music. They’re not too much in the foreground and it makes it easier to ignore the more “softer” whingy moments. The guitars have a nice thick sound that sound a little like Machine Head and the other early ’00s thrash metal bands. The drums in particular have a really nice sound with the bass drums feeling a little sterile but powerful whilst the snare drum sounds raw and produces the kind of impact you would expect from it.

In recent years people have criticised Lordi or Battle Beast for wearing their ’80s influences on their sleeved and there is nothing wrong with that, assuming it is done tastefully. Well this is sort of the same thing here but in terms of late ’90s early ’00s nu-metal/metalcore. It is a very dated style but the band for the most part pull it off well and I could see the younger crowd enjoying it.

Rating : 8 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Down on the Ropes
  2. Echoes
  3. Weaponized
  4. No End In Sight
  5. Blood and Salt
  6. Corner Office Maniacs
  7. The Future Needs Us Not
  8. Silent War
  9. The Hell In Me
  10. Songs of Obscenity
  11. Break and Dominate