Review: One Way Out

Released in 2004, One Way Out is a live album from the blues driven hard rock legends The Allman Brothers Band. Released shortly after the firing of Dickie Betts, this double disc live album shows what happens when you inject an old band with fresh blood.

Being the first album to feature the guitar duo of the long time band member Warren Haynes and the new boy Derek Trucks, the record brings a new lease of life to the band and their back catalogue. Because the album does not feature one of the groups primary song writers, the set list chosen for this record has a considerably more unique song selection compared to the band’s previous live albums. The songs are mainly penned by band leader Gregg Allman with classics and more recent songs like the excellent, Desdemona. You’ll find set mainstays like Jessica and In Memory of Elizabeth Reed being left out for obvious reasons (the lack of Betts).

Despite being two excellent songs and some of the finest tunes ever released by the band, those two songs open up a lot of room for other material. Some of which have not been played in a long time. This is made even better by the over all performance from the band. The seven piece band sound absolutely fantastic through out. They play with what feels like an unlimited amount of energy and prove just how good they are as musicians. Greg’s voice is showing signs of wear and age, he has a coarse raspy vocal delivery but does his best and regardless of the circumstances, he sounds great through out. The rhythm section featuring Trucks, Jaimoe, Quinones and Burbridge is about as perfect as you’ll get from a back line. Keeping a single drummer in check through out shows is a nightmare but hearing these four throw down so many groves without missing a beat, it is just incredible. The twin guitar attack from Trucks and Haynes without a doubt steal the show. The two musicians are both superb in their own way but when you put the two of them together, their different styles play off one another perfectly and it really adds a new dynamic to the bands style.

In terms of sound, One Way Out is relatively spot on. Each instrument has their own spot in the mix and not once do they tread on each others ground. The band as a whole is clear and mighty, possibly the best they have sounded since their early ’70s hey day. My only gripe is that on the second last track, there appears to be some loud clicking sound. After listening to it several times with headphones, I suspect it could be a crowd member clapping awfully loud and very much out of time. But it is hard to be sure. Either way, it is very distracting and the only negative I actually have for this album.

Personally speaking, I would say this record comes awfully close to rivalling The Fillmore East Recordings. The band is tight, energetic and put on a performance that could rival any band past and present. This is an absolute must have for fans of The Allman Brothers Band, blues based rock and rock music in general.

Rating : 9 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Statesboro Blues (CD 1)
  2. Don't Keep My Wonderin' (CD 1)
  3. Midnight Rider (CD 1)
  4. Rockin' Horse (CD 1)
  5. Desdemona (CD 1)
  6. Trouble No More (CD 1)
  7. Wasted Words (CD 1)
  8. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (CD 1)
  9. Instrumental Illness (CD 1)
  10. Ain't Wastin' Time No More (CD 2)
  11. Come and Go Blues (CD 2)
  12. Woman Across the River (CD 2)
  13. Old Before My Time (CD 2)
  14. Every Hungry Woman (CD 2)
  15. High Cost of Low Living (CD 2)
  16. Worried Down With the Blues (CD 2)
  17. Dreams (CD 2)
  18. Whipping Post (CD 2)