Review: Seeds of Chaos and Serenity

After releasing a wonderful record Daphne, I have been keeping an eye on the power metal band Ruins of Elysium. Their previous efforts impressed me greatly so there was no way in hell that I was going to miss out on reviewing their follow up Seeds of Chaos and Serenity.

Ruins of Elysium are a band that boast an impressive large symphonic metal sound. All the familiar traits from other bands are there, the flamboyant but superb guitar playing, the frantic bass and drums as well as the classically trained vocalist. Together with these traits and a great selection of songs the group have put together a very solid enjoyable album.

Unfortunately after the forty five minute mark, the music does become a little repetitive. Seeds of Chaos and Serenity is a hefty one hour and fifteen minutes long and the extended length is without a doubt the biggest flaw of the album. Thankfully each song comes across quite strong and I had a great time listening to it. The music for the most part is superbly crafted and has had a lot of love put into it. The production is a little muddy and is really not my personal cup of tea. I also found that the female vocals on Seeds of Chaos and Serenity Arc 3: Infinity are quite under whelming, lacking in power or good pitch. It really didn’t help the song much at all.

With some quality songwriting, well thought out composing and some high class musicianship, there is very little to complain about here. It could have done with a trim of fifteen minutes or so, but the end result is still a very well made consistent album that fans of power metal and symphonic metal should enjoy without any doubt.

Rating : 8 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Kama Sutra
  2. Shadow of the Colossus
  3. Serpentarius
  4. Beyond the Witching Hour
  5. Iris
  6. The Birth of a Goddess
  7. Seeds of Chaos and Serenity Arc 1: Crystal
  8. Seeds of Chaos and Serenity Arc 2: Black Moon
  9. Seeds of Chaos and Serenity Arc 3: Infinity
  10. Seeds of Chaos and Serenity Arc 4: Dreams
  11. Seeds of Chaos and Serenity Arc 5: Stars