Review: The Age of Absurdity

The Age of Absurdity is the post Motörhead debut of Welsh guitar legend Phil Campbell. Playing alongside his three sons and singer Neil StarrCampbell manages to recapture the sharp rock n roll energy that kept him in one of of rock’s most beloved bands for over thirty years.

I think it is great seeing the boys from Motörhead continue on from the death of our dear Lemmy Kilmister. Mikkey Dee is currently playing with the legendary German rockers Scorpions whilst Phil is working hard with his kids, which is a pretty cool thing to do if you ask me. What is even better is the fact that their debut album is not just consistent rock, it mixes it up with a little bit of metal and even some blues. It is a nice mixed bag of styles, all of which are played very well.

The band’s vocalist, Neil Starr has a fine voice for this king of music. He doesn’t appear to have much in the way of range but he makes up for it by having a bit of rasp in his voice and a very steady powerful tone. He reminds me of a more controlled Chris Jericho, front man of the band Fozzy. I can understand if some fans would have preferred to have a more gruff voice. I for one thinks he does a great job here.

As for recommending songs from the record, to be honest I have none to recommend. I think each song lends itself to the album and picking one just feels kind of wrong. The record should be taken as a whole and I will not recommend it any other way. This is a damn fine rock n roll album that I think deserves a bit of attention from the every day rock and metal fan. If you were into Motorhead,

Rating : 8 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Ringleader
  2. Freak Show
  3. Skin and Bones
  4. Gypsy Kiss
  5. Welcome to Hell
  6. Dark Days
  7. Dropping the Needle
  8. Step into the Fire
  9. Get on your Knees
  10. High Rule
  11. Into the Dark
  12. Silver Machine (cover)