Review: Immortalis

Through the ’90s and early 2000s, the thrash metal band Overkill was stuck a bit of a rut. The band were releasing albums frequently, each one with a consistent style and sound. Their music was starting to get samey and a bit too familiar. The climax of which was 2007’s Immortalis.

Immortalis, is the first album to feature the bands drummer Ron Lipnicki, a much needed shot of adrenaline. His influence is not on this album as much as it was on later releases. However, you can tell the difference in quality between this album and ReliXIV, Blood Letting and Necroshine. The sound is still the same style of “groove” metal and less of the traditional thrash, but it feels tighter and considerably more energetic.

The album still lacks the kind of solid hooks and catchy choruses that I’d expect from Overkill. Regardless of this issue, the quality of the album is very consistent with the bands trademark sound being very recognisable. This is also helped by the fact that the production is pretty good through out. You may not be able to pick out one song from the others but it is an album that you can listen to without any worries.

Immortalis is the start of a new lease of life for Overkill and whilst it may not be as good as the albums that follow, it is still a solid enough effort to be worthy of a spot in any fans collection.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Devils in the Mist
  2. What It Takes
  3. Skull and Bones
  4. Shadow of a Doubt
  5. Hellish Pride
  6. Walk Through Fire
  7. Head On
  8. Chalie Get Your Gun
  9. Hell Is
  10. Overkill V... The Brand