Review: AmeriKKKant

AmeriKKKant is the first Ministry album since 2013’s From Beer To Eternity. It is a politically driven album, something that is not unusual for the band but fails musical department.

The main goal of this album (judging by the press releases we received) is to voice Al Jourgensen’s dissatisfaction with the current political climate. Unfortunately for Ministry that not only means that their lyrics read like a CNN orientated fan group, but in the long run it will date the album. There is nothing wrong with a good political song, it has worked for many in the past. But when it is the main focus of the album, not only does it look tacky but it risks the chance of alienating a vast majority of your fan base.

What would help this album out is if Jourgensen concentrated less on Donal Trump and more on writing music that people want to listen to. The only remotely entertaining hooks on this album are ones he has used multiple times before. The rest of the album is heavy industrial rhythms with some news clips splattered all over the top of it. It isn’t so much music as it is someone with clearly too much time on his hands. Which makes it a shame that the production for the album is fine, a rarity in today’s world of music. It sounds fine cranked up and really has no faults on the technical side of things. It is a shame really considering that the music itself is so unbelievably poor.

This is not an album I would not recommend, not for a second. There are no good songs here, the lyrics are embarrassing and have no real positive qualities at all. Fans of Ministry, all I can say is that I am sorry. You don’t deserve this shit sandwich.

Rating : 4 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. I Know Words
  2. Twilight Zone
  3. Victims of a Clown
  4. TV 5-4 Chain
  5. We're Tired of It
  6. Wargasm
  7. Antifa
  8. Game Over
  9. AmeriKKKa