Review: Resurrection

If there was one album this year that was destined to be a disaster, it was Resurrection by Michael Schenker Fest. This band is a new super group forged by Michael Schenker, recruiting a number of his old band mates to make a new album. The big surprise is, it is pretty solid and really exceeded my expectations.

The idea behind Michael Schenker Fest is very ambitious and I am impressed they actually pulled it off. The album features the singers Gary Barden, Graham Bonnet, Doogie White and Robin McAuley, all big voices and they actually work very well together. Each singer takes up lead and backing vocals, switching places depending on the song and it is very well handled. By far one of the biggest highlights of the album. Also returning is drummer Ted McKenna and Chris Glen on bass, both of which still sound really strong and put on a good show here.

The songs featured on Resurrection are all consistently good, some better than others but nothing here stands out as boring or bad. The band pull out some good heavy metal hooks, the kind thing you’d expect from the Michael Schenker Group, all the while Schenker pulls a lot of great solos and riffs out of his never ending supply of talent. I didn’t find the songs as memorable as Temple of Rock but I liked what I heard and I’m sure many fans will like it too.

The album was mixed and mastered a bit too loud for my personal taste but it sounds a lot better than some that I have heard this year. It certainly didn’t kill my ability to enjoy the music. Resurrection is not the best album from Schenker and his band mates, but there is a lot of potential here and I would love to see this mass of musicians use this record as a stable foundation for an even better second album.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Heart and Soul
  2. Warrior
  3. Take Me to the Church
  4. Night Moods
  5. The Girl With the Stars In Her Eyes
  6. Everest
  7. Messing Around
  8. Time Knows When It's Time
  9. Anchors Away
  10. Salvation
  11. Living a Life Worth Living
  12. The Last Supper