Review: The Silent Vigil

In 2017, Memoriam released a painfully dull death metal album called, For the Fallen. Now it’s 2018 and the band is back with yet another miserable record, this one is called The Silent Vigil.

It has been a while since I have listened to death metal on a frequent basis. But if an album like The Silent Vigil is anything to go by, I think I may just stay clear of it. I know there was a bit of hype surrounding this band and they seem to be getting a bit of praise from other reviewers and followers of the band. I however, just cannot buy into this mediocre music. I have heard it all before and done considerably better.

My first problem with the album is the production. The sound is awfully muddy which does the band no favours. The drums sound very soft and too far into the background, the bass guitar sounds less prominent and more like a sludgy mess. This is all made much worse by the fact that the bands guitar tone is just as lame. It’s a terrible sound.

Then comes the music, all of which is about as exciting as being tied to a chair and being forced to listen to Hillary Clinton’s autobiography audio book narrated in song form by Coldplay. It sounds like a group of musicians going through their favourite death metal albums and playing the most common riffs. It has all been heard before and it really amounts to very little.

Memoriam is very unimaginative and unoriginal in terms of song writing. Until they have that issue sorted out, their band will always been a great example of mediocrity. They have great album art work, but that is literally the only thing going for them. The Silent Vigil is a painfully average, horribly produced album that I really wouldn’t recommend.

Rating : 5 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Soulless Parasite
  2. Nothing Remains
  3. From the Flames
  4. The Silent Vigil
  5. Bleed the Same
  6. As Bridges Burn
  7. The New Dark Ages
  8. No Known Graves
  9. Weaponised Fear