Review: Gimme Back My Bullets

Released in 1976, Gimme Back My Bullets was the fourth studio album released by southern rock gods Lynyrd Skynyrd since their debut record in 1973. This album is easily my least favourite of the five albums the original band released.

Much like a lot of bands at the time, Lynyrd Skynyrd were putting out a lot of material in a very short space of time. By the time they got round to putting out their fourth record, their creativity was starting to wear a bit thin and it really shows here. Gimme Back My Bullets is not a bad album, not by a long shot. But it lacks that special something that maintained the previous two records and the superb debut album.

The biggest problem this album has is that there are very few stand out tracks here, less than Nuthin’ Matters. The album title track is a great heavy riff driven number but is essentially the only thing that could be considered a hit single or fan favourite. Like the previous albums, the music is consistent and entertaining but demonstrates nothing new for the band and this being the albums downfall. The muddy production doesn’t help much either, but that is the least of the band’s problems.

Gimme Back My Bullets is the one filler album in the original bands back catalogue. It is enjoyable, the band themselves do put on a good performance but this was clearly a band that needed to shake things up a bit. Something they did on the follow up album Street Survivors, which saw the addition of guitarist Steve Gaines, their best songs since the debut album and unfortunately ended with the unfortunate plane crash.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Gimme Back My Bullets
  2. Every Mother's Son
  3. Trust
  4. I Got the Same Old Blues
  5. Double Trouble
  6. Roll Gypsy Roll
  7. Searching
  8. Cry for the Bad Man
  9. All I Can Do Is Write About It