Review: Little Deuce Coupe

Little Deuce Coupe is the third album released in 1963 by The Beach Boys. Being their fourth album in the space of a year, the band were not sounding quite as fresh as they had been. But there was more to it than that.

Little Deuce Coupe is essentially a rushed album which was created in response to Capitol Records putting out a compilation titled, Shut Down. A compilation based around the famous Hot Rod vehicle. The company used the bands songs without their involvement or permission. The result was the band rushing into the studio to record eight new studio tracks. These songs alongside four previous used songs made the body for the bands weakest album of the year (I don’t think I’ve ever said that).

It is clear from the get go that this record is a little rushed. The pacing is all over the place and does not feel as smooth as the first three albums, the last two specifically. A couple of the recycled songs definitely feel out of place, but there aren’t any songs that I would consider bad. They do indeed vary in quality, but never drop below average in terms of quality. The album does hold the classic track, I Get Around. A great up lifting rock n roll song with a huge chorus. It is another one of those songs from The Beach Boys that everyone on the planet knows.

Despite the issues, Little Deuce Coupe is not a bad album. It is a fine enough listen and a positively up lifting one. I admire the fact that Brian Wilson attempted to make the album a concept album of sorts. Apparently this was one of the first in recorded history. It is a noble attempt and that should be applauded. It may not be a great album like Surfer U.S.A. or comparable to later albums, but it does its job with reasonable results.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Little Deuce Coupe
  2. Ballad of Ole' Betsy
  3. Be True To Your School
  4. Car Crazy Cutie
  5. Cherry, Cherry Coupe
  6. 409
  7. Shut Down
  8. Spirit of America
  9. Our Car Club
  10. No-Go Showboat
  11. A Young Man Is Gone
  12. Custom Machine