Review: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son

Seventh Son of a Seventh Son is the seventh studio album from the heavy metal legends Iron Maiden. This album is what is generally regarded as the band’s masterpiece and is without a doubt the peak of the bands career creatively.

Much like the previously released Somewhere In TimeSeventh Son of a Seventh Son boasts a typically ’80s heavy metal sound. The guitars have a thin sound much like the previous record but also sound quite sharp, specifically during the guitar solos. The drums joins Steve Harris as they slide a little bit further into the background on this one. You could say that they sound a little bit more subtle, but subtlety is something Nicko has never been good at. Bruce’s vocals hit all kinds of musical highs. In terms of sound, it is a good continuation of the previous two albums and is quite an improvement lyrically.

Where this album shines is in the songwriting and the bands ability to link each song. Most of the tracks are very well written with good use of dynamics. Instead of blasting out their tunes without no remorse as per usual, the band have opted to use a little more atmosphere and melody to convey the mood of the lyrical themes. The music is absolutely top quality with very few exceptions, my only real annoyances being Moonchild and the chorus of The Evil That Men Do, the latter has always been terribly repetitive.

The only other gripe I have with this album is the fact that despite putting on a fantastic vocal performance by normal metal standards, Bruce Dickinson’s voice is not quite the same power house as it was on Somewhere In Time. There is a lot more coarse sounds coming out of his vocals and it is the start of the poor performances found on his final albums, No Prayer For The Dying and Fear Of The Dark. But even with the quality slipping, his voice is still incredibly powerful, recognisable and quite impressive, even to this day.

Seventh Son of a Seventh Son is a superb, very well put together album that I’m sure all Iron Maiden fans own by now. But for those of you who don’t, check it out and admire the skill and creativity put into the album. Sure, it isn’t exactly as complex as prog rock etc, but it packs a punch and is very hard to forget once it’s over.

Rating : 9 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Moonchild
  2. Infinite Dreams
  3. Can I Play With Madness
  4. The Evil That Men Do
  5. Seventh Son of a Seventh Son
  6. The Prophecy
  7. The Clairvoyant
  8. Only the Good Die Young