Review: Northern Chaos Gods

The last couple of years have been interesting for fans of Immortal. First we saw the band split with their long time front man Abbath. Then we saw headlines featuring a solo album and a very drunk corpse painted man make a fool of himself. Amongst all of this, Immortal announced their plans to release their first album without Abbath titled, Northern Chaos Gods. After waiting for what felt like forever, here it is and it does not disappoint.

Much of the album, Northern Chaos Gods is Immortal simply doing what we fans have known them to do and that is blast out no frills black metal with enough hooks and gloomy melodies to make Satan smile. The band featuring Demonaz and Horgh sound extremely energetic, extremely heavy and full of conviction as they blast out this forty two minutes of music. I don’t know if this is them proving a point to a certain ex member, but it certainly does the job if it is.

Trying to describe the sound on Norther Chaos Gods seems a little pointless. It literally is a case of more of the same, but in a good way. The thrashing guitars with those big hooking riffs is the main focus of the album and they sound fantastic. The guitars have the traditional Immortal guitar tone, put these over some lightning fast double bass drum driven beats and you have the groups signature sound. The song writing isn’t anything special. There are a few commonly used black metal clichés. But the way they are utilised is clever enough to get the band a solid pass.

With Demonaz taking full control, he steers the band in the right direction and has put a lot of care into making what I personality would call a safe but extremely enjoyable album. If an album that rivals Damned In Black and falls just a hair short of the classic At the Heart of Winter sounds like an adequate come back to you, then this is definitely an album you need to look into.

Rating : 8 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Northern Chaos Gods
  2. Into Battle Ride
  3. Gates To Blashyrkh
  4. Grim and Dark
  5. Called To Ice
  6. Where Mountains Rise
  7. Blacker of Worlds
  8. Mighty Ravendark