Review: Atonement

Somethings just never change. I have not heard Immolation in many years and listening to their new album, Atonement, I heard nothing but more of the same predictable death metal style that the band wielded many years ago.

The last time I was in touch with Immolation was when Closer To The World Below and Unholy Cult were reasonably new records. That was a good fifteen years ago and it is a shame to hear that there have been no progression or development since.

Now, this does not mean that Atonement is bad. I actually enjoyed my time with the album. But the fact of the matter is, how many times can we hear a death metal band mimic early Morbid Angel with the final product being exciting or at least a little interesting. The music presented here is all professionally recorded, it all sounds great and is easily enjoyable but it lacks any real character or personality leaving it in the dust for more interesting bands like Aeon.

Immolation are a perfectly capable band and they sound great on songs like The Distorting Light, Fostering The Divide and Destructive Currents but there is nothing here that would warrant a purchase over other bands. We have heard these same riffs and blasts so many times before that it makes it truly difficult to warrant a purchase and at the end of the day I wouldn’t recommend it.

What I would recommend in fact is to wait until the album is down in price a little and pick it up then. This is a decent enjoyable record but it most definitely is not worth the full asking price.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. The Distorting Light
  2. When the Jackals Come
  3. Fostering the Divide
  4. Rise the Heretics
  5. Thrown to the Fire
  6. Destructive Currents
  7. Lower
  8. Atonement
  9. Above All
  10. The Power of Gods
  11. Epiphany
  12. Immolation (Re-recorded)