Review: Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (Soundtrack)

The Curse of the Black Pearl is the first film in the extremely popular Disney pirate series Pirates of the Caribbean. The film series is extremely popular thanks mainly to Johnny Depp’s portrayal of Captain Jack Sparrow but also some what due to the bombastic epic score that accompanies the film.

Any one who has seen the film (especially in a movie theatre) know perfectly fine what impact the music has on this movie. The main theme of the series is so recognisable that not only has it featured in four films (for now) and has been used in countless adverts and stage productions since.

The score was composed by Klaus Badelt who’s work strangely includes stinkers like The Scorpion King 2: Rise of a Warrior and Starship Troopers 3: Marauder, whilst having one other major gem in Ridley Scott’s Gladiator. Joining him on the project was the legendary Hans Zimmer, a man who every film and classical fan should know. He also contributed to Gladiator as well as winning numerous awards for the likes of The Lion King, The Dark Knight and Crimson Tide.

These two professionals together have created some memorable themes and motifs. The main theme from the movie is used through out the record which can be a little repetitive at times. With that said, that same sections are wrapped around some nice melodies that range from an optimistic fantasy style to more gloomy morbid tones. There are a lot of moments that start quiet and build into a more epic piece. These brutal crescendos can be a bit tiresome for some, especially considering it happens quite frequently and really pulverises your ear drums when it does.

The soundtrack for The Curse of the Black Pearl  is a little repetitive in places but I personally enjoyed it being a big fan of the movie. But those looking for a proper orchestral score might want to look at the movie’s sequel Dead Man’s Chest instead. That album is a little more consistent and focuses less on re-occurring themes and more on original varied pieces.

A word of warning for those purchasing the album on CD. It appears that there is an older print of the album that has bad playback with a lot of pops and clicks.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Fog Bound
  2. The Medallion Calls
  3. The Black Pearl
  4. Will and Elizabeth
  5. Swords Crossed
  6. Walk the Plank
  7. Barbossa is Hungry
  8. Blood Ritual
  9. Moonlight Serenade
  10. To the Pirates' Cave!
  11. Skull and Crossbones
  12. Bootstrap's Bootstraps
  13. Underwater March
  14. One Last Shot
  15. He's a Pirate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *