Review: Mr. Wonderful

After releasing their (first) self titled album, Fleetwood Mac kept churning out music. Sticking true to their blues routes, the band put out Mr. Wonderful. A release that came the same year as its predecessor and is considered a solid but inconsistent album.

Those looking to hear the band at their blues heights will find Mr. Wonderful is exactly the album they are looking for. It is a solid continuation of the previous album and really shows the band doing what this line did best. Unfortunately, this is also the albums biggest downfall.

Despite being a twelve track album, all of which are enjoyable in their own little way. It showed people that the band at the time did not have much in the way of imagination. As an example, four songs on the album have the exact same opening riff. The well known and fairly over played intro to the Robert Johnson and Elmore James classic, Dust My Broom. It is very hard not to notice and might convince people that the band merely recycled the same song over and over again. That is a problem, no matter how well it is played.

With the repetition aside, the music is very enjoyable and is the kind of thing lovers of the ’60s British blues scene would be into. There are a number of memorable lead guitar moments, Peter Green in particular sticks out like a sore thumb as he wails over Spencer’s slide guitar. The production is a bit on the raw side and definitely sounds a bit amateurish, but that adds a little charm to the music in my opinion. However, It is understandable if it’s a bit too low budget for others.

Mr. Wonderful is not a bad album, it is just a very repetitive one. If you’re looking for that specific blues rock sound then you’ll enjoy what is hear. There is nothing amazing or unique about this record. It knows what it wants to be and does it well.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Step Messin' Round
  2. I've Lost My Baby
  3. Rollin' Man
  4. Dust My Broom
  5. Love That Burns
  6. Doctor Brown
  7. Need Your Love Tonight
  8. If You Be My Baby
  9. Evenin' Boogie
  10. Lazy Poker Blues
  11. Coming Home
  12. Trying So Hard To Forget