Review: The Unholy One

The Unholy One is the debut album from the death metal band Expulser. The original album was released all the way back in 1992 and only recently receiving a re-issue at the hands of Greyhaze Records.

If you haven’t heard of Expulser, do not worry because neither have I. Their album, The Unholy One is quite favourable with fans of death metal and has apparently became quite a cult favourite. With that, I decided to take a look at this album and I have to admit, I wasn’t impressed at all.

Listening to the early days of Morbid Angel, Deicide, Vader and Death makes this album seem quite feeble in so many ways. First off, the band’s drummer Marcon’nCrasher” Rodrigues is not a very good musician. With all the focus being on fast relentless blast beats, it is clear that he does not have the ability to play them consistently. His double bass drumming frequently goes off time making even the simplest beats sound quite amateurish.

Secondly, the songs just aren’t that interesting. Occasionally you do get a nice riff or two, but for the most part it is pretty standard stuff. Certainly nothing that deserves any kind of praise. The band’s guitarist Weber Daeahmon seems capable enough pulling off these moments, but lacks the kind of originality required to do something interesting with it.

From a production stand point, The Unholy One does not sound bad by any means. It has held up quite well in fact. Had the music been a little better, I think it would have worked perfectly. The band’s guitar and bass tones come across quite strong and despite the sub par playing, the drums have a good raw sound to them.

No doubt I will be crucified for my opinion on this album. But I honestly do not hear anything worth talking about. It is just another death metal album in a sea of hundreds.

Rating : 6 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Praise to the Almighty God
  2. Cirrhosis (Let's Get Drunk)
  3. Bleeding at Cross
  4. Fornications (at the Church)
  5. The Unholy One
  6. Screams of Delight
  7. Christ's Saga
  8. The Evil Orgasm
  9. Gore Pussy of Virgin
  10. The Slut
  11. Vomiting in Paradise
  12. The Offensor
  13. No Ressurection