Review: The Beyond

The Beyond is the debut album from the instrumental guitarist Dustin Behm. This six string wonder likes to think of himself as a one man band and unfortunately, that might just be his one major draw back.

Dustin Behm is clearly a talented guitarist who can work his fret board just as well as any skilled guitarist out there. He pulls out all the stops on The Beyond and from a certain point of view, he should be proud of putting out this album. It is far from a bad album, even if it is not as good as it could have been.

The way that this album could have been improved was if it was a solid band project. You can tell there is no chemistry between a group of musicians and it makes the songs sound too cold, sterile and at times very robotic. Had this record had a real drummer, guitar and bass player, there would have been a lot more personality and life in this record.

The other problem Behn has is that if he really wants to show off his skills, he needs to play something other than death metal. In terms of rock orientated music, he couldn’t have picked a more shallow style music if he tried. Had this fellow utilised his skills on a cleaner more jazz orientated style of music, I’m pretty sure he’d sound utterly fantastic.

The Beyond to me is just another death metal album. I have heard a lot of music like this before so this is breaking absolutely no ground for me what so ever. I found it tedious and too unoriginal. I respect the effort put into the record and the talent that Behn has, but he is wasting his talent on this kind of music in my opinion.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Mechanisation
  2. Poltergeist
  3. Alien Voodoo
  4. Interdimensional Traveler
  5. The Beyond
  6. Genesis
  7. Rituals
  8. Descent Into the Unknown
  9. Haunted Labyrinth
  10. Obelisk
  11. Last Resort
  12. Awakening
  13. Towers of Glass