Review: In The Night

In The Night is the sixth studio album from the Swedish heavy metal band Dream Evil. This is an album that does more of the same but managed to remain consistent through out, much like their previous release, United.

Dream Evil are one of those bands that are a little predictable. Once you’ve heard one album, you’ll generally know what to expect from the rest. This creates the one major problem found on In The Night. You see, the album itself is not bad and by no means does it sound poor. It is a solid very consistent heavy metal record that fans will without a doubt enjoy, but it is all ideas we have heard before and for that, it certainly comes up lacking.

Much like every album blessed with the production of Fredrik Nordström, the instruments sound immense. The guitars especially have a very satisfying heavy tone, it sounds great as the band chug and shred their way through these old school metal riffs. It is certainly a sound that seems appropriate with songs like, Bang Your Head, Mean Machine and The Chosen One. The vocals handled by Nick Night is as impressive as they always are. Through out the bands catalogue, this guy puts on some great vocal performances and this is no different. He has a powerful, melodic and very recognisable voice. By all means, he is part of the band’s recognisable sound.

I still think that Dream Evil’s first three albums are their best and the three that followed are all enjoyable, well produced and worth having all the same. Albums like In The Night might not be the most original out there, but it is still a rather good time for those looking for some heavy old school metal.

Rating : 7 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Immortal
  2. In the Nigh
  3. Bang Your Head
  4. See the Light
  5. Electric
  6. Frostbite
  7. On the Wind
  8. The Ballad
  9. In the Fires of the Sun
  10. Mean Machine
  11. "Kill, Burn, Be Evil"
  12. The Unchosen One