Review: …To The Rising Sun (In Tokyo)

At their advanced age, it is a miracle that Deep Purple and the other bands of their generation are still with us. With the excess of the ’70s and ’80s, it really is impressive that any band came out of there alive and well, never mind releasing live records like …To The Rising Sun (In Tokyo) well into their 60’s.

It is no secret that Deep Purple have been feeling their age for a few years now. With talk of winding down to retirement, I am actually quite impressed with the overall quality on …To The Rising Sun (In Tokyo). The band do play at a more relaxed pace but they keep it tight and about as professional as you can get from a band of ageing rockers. The voice of Ian Gillan can’t hit those high notes that made him famous, but it isn’t for a lack of trying. His performance on songs like Into The Fire (which he struggled to sing live in the ’70s) ranges from great to all over the place as he pushes himself further than his body will allow him. When he is on, he sounds great but the moments where his voice fails him are a little cringe worthy.

The single original member and drumming God Ian Paice puts on a spectacular performance. Though he doesn’t have the same ultra fast spontaneous drum fills from his prime, his rhythm is solid through out never missing a beat and is truly the back bone of the band alongside bassist Roger Glover. Of course this is taking nothing from the soloists Steve Morse and Don Airey, both of whom are on a world of their own in terms of skill, talent and how they play these songs. Fans can argue about these two not being as good as Blackmore and Lord all they want, but even their predecessors would struggle to keep up with their playing on this record.

…To The Rising Sun (In Tokyo) features a great set of songs with the usual hits Strange Kind of Woman, Smoke on the Water, Black Night and Perfect Strangers. The band throw in forgotten oldies like Into The Fire and Lazy which do sound pretty great in 2015. There is also the added bonus of several new tracks including Aprés Vous, Uncommon Man and Vincent Price. Each one of the new tracks hold their own in the live setting and actually sound better for it.

To be honest with you, the Deep Purple fans who are stuck in the ’70s will not enjoy this product. It is not geared towards those who haven’t moved on from the bands glory days. But it is a must own for those who have followed and supported the group since. There are a few dodgy moments from Gillan but the rest of the music is spot on and about as good as you’d want from any band of any age group.

Rating : 8 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Aprés Vous (CD 1)
  2. Into the Fire (CD 1)
  3. Hard Lovin' Man (CD 1)
  4. Strange Kind of Woman (CD 1)
  5. Vincent Price (CD 1)
  6. Contact Lost (CD 1)
  7. Uncommon Man (CD 1)
  8. The Well-Dressed Guitar (CD 1)
  9. The Mule (CD 1)
  10. Above and Beyond (CD 1)
  11. Lazy (CD 1)
  12. Hell To Pay (CD 2)
  13. Don Airey's Solo (CD 2)
  14. Perfect Strangers (CD 2)
  15. Space Truckin' (CD 2)
  16. Smoke on the Water (CD 2)
  17. Green Onions/Hush (CD 2)
  18. Black Night (CD 2)