Review: The Sound of Perseverance

Death continue to explore a more progressive sound on The Sound of Perseverance, the band’s seventh and ultimately final album.

Considering their rustic beginnings as one of the primordial death metal bands, The Sound of Perseverance is a real statement of musical progression.  However, Chuck Schuldiner and Death had been slowly progressing towards this with each album prior in one of the finest examples of musical evolution in metal circles.

The Sound of Perseverance is the penultimate statement of Death.  It retains their death metal origins through intensity and Chuck‘s shrieking growls.  Opening track Scavenger of Human Sorrow brings together a raw riff which transitions through each part of the song composition in a suffocating array of excellent guitar craftsmanship and pounding drums, often overplayed.

There is a litany of truly memorable riffs throughout the eight songs that make up The Sound of Perseverance.  It was a reminder that although death metal is about extreme music it is ultimately music and in heavy metal, good riffs provide hooks and anchors to immerse the listener into the raw emotional display. Death have crafted that aspect with truly stunning realisation and there a few forgettable moments in the album.

It’s biggest issue is that some of the songs out stay their welcome especially when compared to less realised but more cohesive predecessor Symbolic.  And whilst the riffs of Flesh and Power It Holds and A Moment of Clarity providing a fitting back drop to the poignant lyrics, both often wander into the heavy metal wilderness before coming back into focus.

That said, The Sound of Perseverance is an excellent album and befitting of irony, Chuck Schuldiner delivers one of his most dynamic vocal performances before abandoning the style in later efforts.  It is fitting end as the album embodies Death at their most progressive and most musically perfected.

Rating : 8 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Scavenger of Human Sorrow
  2. Bite The Pain
  3. Spirit Crusher
  4. Story To Tell
  5. Flesh and Power It Holds
  6. Voice on the Soul
  7. To Forgive Is To Suffer
  8. A Moment of Clarity
  9. Painkiller