Review: Cryptoriana – The Seductiveness of Decay

Cryptoriana – The Seductiveness of Decay, by Cradle of Filth has got to be one of the finest return to forms the black metal (yes, black metal) scene have seen. Not only is this album gothic, dark and heavy. But it also features the perfect balance between the bands old and new sounds, so much so that I genuinely have a hard time criticising anything featured on this record.

Everything that made Cradle of Filth a big deal with all the goth kids in the ’90s is here and then some. Each song has its share of catchy hooks, poetic lyrics as well as the trademark snarling vocals. There is a clever use of melody and symphonic elements that help make the album considerably easy to listen to. For its hour long track list, it is quite easy to lose your place in this record as each song blends in to one another beautifully. The momentum starts quickly with the opening Exquisite Torments Await and comes to a screeching halt with Death and the Maiden. The big issue with this is that the songs were that well crafted that for once, a lengthy album actually left me wanting more.

With a great set of songs and strong production quality, Cryptoriana – The Seductiveness of Decay, is hands down the best album this band has released since their Midian and Damnation And A Day hey day. What the band did with their previous album, Hammer of the Witches, has been trimmed and built upon to make solid foundations. On these foundations, the band have rectified a solid structure that is going to be near impossible to knock down.

I know liking anything post, Cruelty And The Beast, is sacrilege to a portion of Cradle of Filth fans. But after twenty years listening to this group, I will easily say this album squishes its predecessor and every other album out there in its group. Cryptoriana – The Seductiveness of Decay, delivers everything I love about this band and metal sub-genre and then some. With exception of some audible crackles from the loud mix, I would say that this record is damn near perfect. This is easily one of the best extreme metal albums I have heard this year and maybe this generation.

Rating : 10 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Exquisite Torments Await
  2. Heartbreak and Seance
  3. Achingly Beautiful
  4. Wester Vespertine
  5. The Seductiveness of Decay
  6. Vengeful Spirit
  7. You Will Know the Lion By His Claw
  8. Death and the Maiden