Review: Reckless

Before he became that annoying git who wrote, Everything I do, I Do It For You, Bryan Adams was a charismatic rock star from Canada who had a lot going for him (and still does). This review looks back at his unappreciated classic 1984 hit album, Reckless.

Everyone remembers those hit singles and some of us would of loved to have slapped him in the face for a few of them. But there is no denying Bryan Adams’ knack for writing incredibly catching rock songs that appeal to every age group. There is not a better example of this than this career highlight, Reckless.

Reckless is a very solid pop rock album from the mid 80’s. Each song is a solid ball of rock n roll with infections grooves, catchy choruses and some great musicianship. The music is simple and straight forward without any real flare, which being the 1980’s is actually quite refreshing.

You can list the great songs on this album and guaranteed someone you know will recognise them. Summer of ’69, It’s Only love ft Tina Turner or the hard driving Kids Wanna Rock. It is no real wonder with well produced tracks like this that this album is so popular. Who can resist the popular rocker, Run To You. Between that fiery guitar playing and the fantastic chorus, the song is extremely hard to ignore. The kind of song that you’d tap your foot to or sing to without realising you’re doing it. Adams has the same ear for rock guitar and pop hooks that you will find from ’80s heavy metal gods Def Leppard. That same mash up of styles that mould into great songs.

With the songs aside, the album has a very vintage 1980’s sound. The drums sound huge and everything has a very thick layer of reverb to it. That distinct sound that people who grew up or lived through the ’80s will never forget. As nostalgic as that sound is, I think Reckless would of benefited more from a more down to earth sound. A kind of 1970’s Mott The Hoople or UFO sound would of given these songs a well deserved kick up the backside.

If you plan on buying this album I recommend hunting down the 30th Anniversary Edition. The album comes with a few extra tracks and a full live album on a seperate disc. This live album is, Live At Hammersmith Odeon 85 and is worth the extra pounds. The performance is energetic, up beat and is for a lack of better words, Excellent. It is a solid hour of rock n roll that shows Bryan Adams in the best light. The songs have an extra rawness in the live setting giving the songs a much heavier, bluesy feel.

When it comes to rock albums from the ’80s, I would say that Reckless should be on that list without question. Much like Def Leppard at the time, the songs are too catchy and memorable to not be played. This is a great album that is full of energy and despite the obvious trendy production, still sounds as fresh as it did back when it was fairly new.

Rating : 9 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. One Night Love Affair
  2. She's Only Happy When She's Dancin'
  3. Run To You
  4. Heaven
  5. Somebody
  6. Summer of '69
  7. Kids Wanna Rock
  8. It's Only Love (w/ Tina Turner)
  9. Long Gone
  10. Ain't Gonna Cry