Review: Sound of White Noise

During the early ’90s, the current fashion of music was changing. Out went the big hair metal bands and in came flannel shirts, gritty coarse vocalists and more heroine than Nikki Sixx knew what to do with. Thrash metal band Anthrax jumped the train alongside the likes of Motley Crue and Iron Maiden sacking their superior vocalist, in this case Joey Belladonna for something a bit more fashionable. The result was 1993’s Sound of White Noise.

Sound of White Noise is an interesting departure for Anthrax. It is clear that they’re trying to push the boundaries of their sound and in some degree they succeed. Their sound went from a noticeably thrashy sound to a more punkish grunge sound, showing some similarity to Soundgarden’s more up beat numbers. On these tracks, the bands change in singer works perfectly. He suits the style change but over all, I don’t think it suits the band.

There are still a number of heavier thrash numbers through out the record and I honestly feel they would have sounded monumentally better with Joey Belladonna on vocals. He was considerably better at projection his voice, making John Bush’s sound like a grumpy whisper by comparison. They lack this kind of power making it a bit of a shame they ditched him to pander to modern trends.

Sound of White Noise is a perfectly good album. I liked it a good deal but to me, there is just something that feels a bit off. But I have always had that feeling about the John Bush era Anthrax. They were always a good band, but they never quite recovered until 2011’s Worship Music. Fans of that grunge based heavy music of the time will definitely enjoy this album. There are a lot of solid tunes, the best being Only. It is currently easy to find being a part of a Nuclear Blast re-issue campaign alongside the other Bush era albums.

Rating : 8 / 10

Where to buy :

Track Listing :

  1. Potters Field
  2. Only
  3. Room For One More
  4. Packaged Rebellion
  5. Hy Pro Glo
  6. Invisible
  7. 1000 Points of Hate
  8. Black Lodge
  9. C₁₁ H₁₇ N₂ O₂ S Na
  10. Burst
  11. This Is Not An Exit