Therion’s Christofer Johnsson discusses new opera plot

Symphonic metal veterans Therion have released the details for their epic new album. The album which is hailed as the monumental brainchild of Christofer Johnsson, is titled, Beloved Antichrist and is due to be released on February 2nd, 2018.

The band’s new album is loosely based on A Short Tale of the Antichrist by Vladimir Soloviov, features forty six new tracks, twenty seven different character roles and will features roles from past members Thomas Vikström, Lori Lewis and Chiara Malvestiti.

Watch a video featuring Christofer Johnsson discussing the plot to the new opera below. You can also listen to the band’s first single, Temple of New Jerusalem.

Purchase the album:




Therion – Beloved Antichrist Track List:

Act I

  1. Turn From Heaven
  2. Where Will You Go?
  3. Through Dust, Through Rain
  4. Signs Are Here
  5. Never Again
  6. Bring Her Home
  7. The Solid Black Beyond
  8. The Crowning Of Splendour
  9. Morning Has Broken
  10. Garden Of Peace
  11. Our Destiny
  12. Anthem
  13. The Palace Ball
  14. Jewels From Afar
  15. Hail Caesar!
  16. What Is Wrong?
  17. Nothing But My Name

Act II

  1. The Arrival Of Apollonius
  2. Pledging Loyalty
  3. Night Reborn
  4. Dagger Of God
  5. Temple Of New Jerusalem
  6. The Lions Roar
  7. Bringing The Gospel
  8. Laudate Dominum
  9. Remaining Silent
  10. Behold Antichrist
  11. Cursed By The Fallen
  12. Resurrection
  13. To Where I Weep
  14. Astral Sophia
  15. Thy Will Be Done!


  1. Shoot Them Down!
  2. Beneath The Starry Skies
  3. Forgive Me
  4. The Wasteland Of My Heart
  5. Burning The Palace
  6. Prelude To War
  7. Day Of Wrath
  8. Rise To War
  9. Time Has Come/Final Battle
  10. My Voyage Carries On
  11. Striking Darkness
  12. Seeds Of Time
  13. To Shine Forever
  14. Theme Of Antichrist